Newcastle Away Days within 60 minutes drive
Warkworth Castle
Warkworth – historic medieval village   Warkworth Castle and Hermitage   Details here River Walks along the River Coquet Warkworth Beach  Warkworth Show - held in August (www.warkworthshow.co.uk) Druridge Bay Beach + Country Park - approx 2 miles south of Amble via A1068 (www.druridgebay.co.uk  ) Hauxley Nature Reserve - approx 1 mile south of Amble via Hauxley Lane. Click here for more information Alnmouth – small coastal village Alnmouth beach Alnmouth Friary Click here for more information Alnmouth Village Golf Club - the oldest 9 hole links golf course in England.A lnmouth Golf Club (Foxton Hall) - 18 hole golf course located at Foxton Hall (just north of Alnmouth Village)  See www.alnmouthgolfclub.com Amble - fishing port on the Northumberland coast Amble (Warkworth) Harbour, breakwater, pier and Little Shore Amble Markets (Saturdays and Sundays)   Northside Surf School (www.northside-surf-school.co.uk) Coquet Shorebase (www.coquetshorebase.org.uk) Dave Gray’s Puffin Cruises (www.puffincruises.co.uk)   Amble Links Beach  Libby 2 Charters - Fishing Trips and Sightseeing Trips  Click here for more detail Alnwick – historic market town Alnwick Castle - historic home of the Percy family, Dukes of Northumberland and well known film and TV location Alnwick Garden - beautiful formal gardens developed by Her Grace The Duchess of Northumberland.  Includes Alnwick Treehouse Restaurant Bailiffgate Museum Click here for more details Aln Valley Railway, Alnwick (www.alnvalleyrailway.co.uk) House of Hardy Fishing Museum The Old Cross Pub (aka The Dirty Bottles) Woodhorn Museum and Northumberland Archives (near Ashington) (http://www.experiencewoodhorn.com/) Newbiggin by the Sea Maritime Centre and The Couple Statue  (www.nmcentre.org.uk) Blyth – coastal town/port  Blyth Battery (www.blythbattery.org.uk) Blyth beach - beautiful sandy beach south of the town  with car parking nearby Still to come - information on: Durham Beamish and more